Interviews and Reviews

Book Review: Woom by Duncan Ralston

“Trust me when I say, this is messed up.” – MATT SHAW, author of Sick B*stards.

“I believe pain lingers,” Angel said. “Do I believe in spirits? In the supernatural? Probably not.”

The Lonely Motel holds many dark secrets… and Room 6 just might possess the worst of them all.

Angel knows all about pain. His mother died in this room. He’s researched its history. Today he’s come back to end it, no matter the cost, once and for all.

Shyla, a plus-sized escort, thinks the stories Angel tells her can’t be true. Secrets so vile, you won’t want to let them inside you.

But the Lonely Motel doesn’t forget. It doesn’t forgive. And it always claims its victim.

“This book is a wet dream of abnormal sexual psychology.” – Mort Stone, My Indie Muse

WARNING: Don’t buy this book if you have a weak stomach, if you’re easily disturbed, or if you’re looking for a light horror read. THIS IS NOT THAT BOOK. Seriously. You’ve been warned.

My Review:

I was lucky – or unluck, depending on your point of view and upbringing – enough to be incredibly sexually active as a teen. I met a girl on a blind date at the movies (Ghostbusters II) and she ended up being a freak. I’ve often told everyone who’s come into my life since that they should track the slayer of my virginity down and buy her dinner, otherwise I wouldn’t be responsible for that thing I do with my tongue. Only a couple dozen people know this information and I can guarantee you none of them are reading this book review. Their husbands/boyfriends won’t let them. Good riddance. I should be safe.

She became less of a girlfriend over the years and more of a research subject. Nothing and nowhere was off the table. It was difficult to find and keep friends since most of them couldn’t have gotten laid if they crawled up a chicken’s ass and waited. Thinking that me and my actions were the envy of their ignored boyhood is a disturbing thought in hindsight. Since those days, I’ve battled through failed marriages and went through girlfriends like a cleanly man goes through underwear. My teenage sexual escapades were less pleasurable and more tortured, and it’s taken me over thirty years to come to grips with this.

I recall being barely sixteen, laying in a bed I had no business being in. Her parents were slumbering just across the hallway in the old home and my young conquest was sleeping as though she couldn’t care less about anyone busting in the room at any given moment. All I could do was stare at what little of the ceiling my sight offered and wonder about the composition of the alien fluids stickily drying atop my soon to be manhood. My, how the uninformed mind wanders. Yes, young, promiscuous girls are aliens left here by the earliest of Earth’s visitors as torment. Biblical demons who lead young boys and straying men to their demise via premature exploration or blackmail, considering the age or relationship status of the victim. If there truly is a God, then bless them all.

Duncan Ralston has managed to author a book which executes all those sickly thoughts that clouded my brain as an overly active sexual teenager with no boundaries. I refuse to offer spoilers because every turn of the page needs to reveal these secrets in the way they were meant to be discovered. By the time you’re finished, not only will you have endured the journey placed at your feet by a masterful wordsmith, but all those demented thoughts you had while invading high school era sheets will finally come to fruition.

Think of it as a short story collection glued together by a man’s cryptic confession of pleasure, pain, and finality. Just like those terrorizing teenage romps in barns – I’m from Texas – that ended in exhaustion just before sunrise, it’s a potential shotgun blast full of rock salt to the ass from a pissed off father you won’t soon forget. A reminder that, no matter how sweet and solid the recipient of your current physical involvement may be, those questions still remain, they’ll never go away, and that little Susie Homemaker wouldn’t dare let you perform those types of experiments on her baby maker. How hard? How deep? Exactly how much can a person live through? Will the newspapers have the balls to tell the whole story without stumbling on the grotesque truth?

Remember in school when you could turn to the back of the textbook, flip it upside down, and have all the answers to the quiz? That’s what Ralson has managed to do here, except the book is a chick, and she likes it in the back while flipped upside down. This is what I got out of the book. Your experience may vary depending on your own personal level of sexual experience. The fact that you’re a special kind of twisted will have nothing to do with it.

C.

Book Review: Grandpappy by PC3

Grandpappy is on hospice.
Charles is going mad.
Vile happenings are abound.
You, reader, are not prepared.
This is your lesson in depravity.

WARNING! This is an extreme horror novella. Very few triggers are left unpulled.

Grandpappy by PC3 aka Patrick Harrison III

Purchase on Amazon.

PC3 was my very first glimpse into the Splatterpunk world a few years ago with Inferno Bound and the Hell Hounds. I remember saying aloud “Holy crap! We’re allowed to write stuff like this?”

Since then, I’ve read quite a few offerings from many different authors such as Dead Inside by Chandler Morrison, Full Brutal by Kristopher Triana, and Talia by Daniel Volpe. Neither of these are recommended dinner table reading. Trust me, I’ve tried and damn near failed.

I’ve also tried my hand at writing some Splatterpunk with my short story “Hell Paso” from the pages of the 2020 Splatterpunk anthology of the year “And Hell Followed” as well as the Splatter Western “Starving Zoe”. I’m not quite sure where I fit in this genre, or even if I’m qualified to be considered a Splatterpunk author, but I know one thing for certain. PC3 is a rock star.

I popped this little jewel open on a flight to and from Chicago because reading grotesque things with revealing covers is why we all read on planes in the first place, right? During my airborne four hours, I could hear the groans of the simpletons as they gazed upon the deformed toenails on the cover and read the bolded warnings of the back synopsis. That, my fellow passengers, is what you get for being a nosy patron of the friendly skies. Keep your eyes to yourself and this sort of thing won’t happen!

The best part was when a pre-teen child with exceptional eyes was following me page by page and whispering the words as he read them. With any luck, this kid is scarred for life and having the world’s most uncomfortable dinner conversation with parents who haven’t the slightest of ideas on how to answer the inquiries pouring from his mouth between bites of meatloaf and steamed broccoli. Guaranteed, being a child of North Texas, his parents will drag him kicking and screaming into the closest church for a well-deserved exorcism.

The premise of this book is as follows: Charlie is a regular guy. Plain and simple. His parents want to get away on a quick vacation, but Grandpappy is on his last leg. Charlie, not knowing what he’s getting himself into, accepts the request to watch over the dying man. A hospice nurse and nurse’s aide come twice a day so it shouldn’t be any problem. This is where the fun begins.

As mentioned before, I have read many offerings into the Splatterpunk world and each time they get a little more “out there”. Trust me when I say it will take a damn talented author and a lot of hallucinogens to match what PC3 has done in Grandpappy. If this book doesn’t win Splatterpunk novella of the year at Killercon 2023, I’ll scream “fake news” and storm the Texas state capitol in a pair of Superman panties while covered in chocolate syrup.

There are some who have trashed this book with bad reviews which begs the question “why are you reading extreme horror if you’re not an extreme horror fan?”

For the social media cred? For the chicks? For the social media cred chicks? None of those things are real!

PC3 is an up-and-coming master of this art who won’t soon be forgotten. Not only did Grandpappy surpass all the above-mentioned books, but it even replaced what I considered to be the greatest work of Splatterpunk fiction ever to pour from the fingers of the great Ed Lee. Yes, this made “Header” read like “That Little Engine That Could”. I’m not belittling “Header” in any way. It’s a classical masterpiece. I’m just making a comparison so you’ll understand what you’re getting yourself into.

It’s not just the horror and gore that make it so unforgettable. The humor is on point, if you’re someone who finds such things to be humorous, and the jokes and references come often. It’s a novella so it’s a quick read. Two uncomfortable plane rides later and I was at the end with a mystery QR code staring me in the face. I won’t spoil it, nor should you skip to this point without reading the book.

To boot, this isn’t some gore story without substance. There is a tale here as well as a lesson. This is the unwelcomed picture of the modern American family. We all have metaphorical skeletons in our shed and teeth in a random kitchen drawer, but some of us take these metaphors to literal extremes. Chances are that you know a family like this, and you’ve always wanted to be a fly on their wall to see what’s truly going on behind closed doors. Be careful what you wish for.

To finalize this review, there will never be a Grandpappy movie. Hollywood wouldn’t dare tell this story and, if they did, it wouldn’t be worth watching. They’d cut out all the good parts and probably put a worthless mumble rap song in the end credits making you want to regurgitate the film you just watched. If they ever get the nerve to try, all I ask is that they somehow con Donald Trump into playing Grandpappy. Did you like how I used the words con and Trump in the same sentence?

Bonus: Imagine the characters and voices of Eustace and Muriel from Courage the Cowardly Dog as you read this. You’ll thank me when it’s over.

C. Derick Miller

Rant & Chill Star Wars Episode!

ABC’s 20/20 Episode Commentary

ABC’s 20/20 Brandon Woodruff (on HULU)

https://www.hulu.com/watch/603c56a5-45a7-4356-84a9-862ae0792f34

Special Interview: Pre-ABC’s 20/20 With American Justice Podcast and Richard Ray

Book Review: Talia by Daniel Volpe

My first taste of indie horror was “The Language of Fear” by Del James. Having just moved back to Texas from Los Angeles, I could relate to the Hollywood horrors portrayed in the anthology. I remember asking myself “Can people really write this way and get away with it?”

I woke up the next morning and wrote my first short story. I was first published a few years later.

That was 2004. It is now 2021. The indie horror fan base has cannibalized itself. I would call it “woke,” but even woke people have nerves. No, not the majority, but the loudest of the vocal minority pretending to be the wimpy majority have made it nearly impossible to speak freely in the pages of modern extreme horror. It’s sad, really, but expected. Literary revolutions are inevitable every decade or so, I just think we’re all moving in the wrong direction. Now, I ask myself “can we still write this way and get away with it?”

Daniel Volpe says “Yes.”

Synopsis:

In the early 1990s the rising popularity of the video cassette gave birth to a seedy, underground world of illicit pornography.
Talia, a Midwest dreamer, leaves home in search of fame under the blinding Broadway lights. But nothing could have prepared her for what she finds instead. Savage violence, bottomless depravity, and no way out.

Talia will unapologetically drag you into the foul underbelly of society. A sanity straining journey, full of hot bloodshed and betrayal.

My Review:

That loud, vocal minority I spoke of earlier will hate every sentence in this book. Why? Because it’s real. The type of scenario taking place was an underworld regularity in the 1990’s and, thanks to the internet and the fact that EVERYONE has a recording device in their pockets, it’s even more of an occurrence today! Society wants to pretend this is all fiction and, for the sake of this story, it is. The scenario? Real. Daily. Probably happening this very minute inside a home in our own neighborhoods on month old dirty sheets with an iPhone. Horror seeded in reality is my favorite kind. If you are easily triggered by sex, violence, gore, breathing, etc. (you know who you are), stay away from this book. In fact, stay away from ALL books in this genre. That’s what a synopsis and dedication page are for in indie horror. They’re wimp warnings. Heed them.

I went into this book with no clues. I’ll do the same for you. If you’re a fan of the extreme, this one is definitely for you. Don’t send it to school with your kid, don’t read it out loud on the subway, and don’t leave it sitting on the back of the toilet at church. This is one of the most extreme offerings I’ve read in quite a while, and I can’t wait to read more from this author. I can’t help but wonder if Mr. Volpe has spent a little time behind the camera himself…

Go To 12:38

Horror Talk Radio 12/4/20

Literary License Podcast Appearance: Call of the Wild

Carnage, Raw Rage, and Savagery!

by The Voracious Gnome

Splatter Western #5 is a tale about going home. Robert Jack is an orphan who has tried to make the best of what’s been thrown at him. Growing up in the harsh neighborhoods of New England taught him lots of bad habits. But those bad habits gave him the opportunity to meet Zoe. A willing partner in crime, they have adventures together that force them to seek shelter in anonymity. Starving Zoe is a story of love, revenge and hate in 1865 Arizona Territory.

For some of you, some scenes will be shocking. Some scenes will make you feel dirty. And some scenes will make you laugh until you cry. This is not for sensitive readers or those with triggers. It is full of carnage, raw rage, and horrific savagery! It was great! I loved how Robert Jack’s sarcasm is peppered throughout the story. If you love gore with a little splatter here and there, you’ve got to check this one out! – The Voracious Gnome

Starving Zoe

Posted on  by BIBLIOPHILIA TEMPLUMLeave a comment

STARVING ZOE
By C Derick Miller

starvingzoe

Compelling. Evocative. Brutal.

Synopsis

To most, 1865 was an eye-opening year. The American Civil War was officially over, and the soldiers fortunate enough to survive the bloody conflict returned home to collect the pieces of their former lives. To young Arizonan, Robert Jack, the fateful desert homecoming marked the end to all he once knew.

Forgiveness is overrated. Death is final. Revenge, however, dances between the fine lines of mortality and eternity. Love always finds a way.

Review

Starving Zoe by C Derick Miller is Book 5 in the Splatter Western series from Death’s Head Press. It’s a Splatter Western. Splatter. Western. You need to know that going in. You need to understand it. Because trashing a splatter western for having horror elements is bad form. So, Splatter Western.

On that note …

I seriously almost puked on page 4.
I almost threw the book across the room when I came upon the horrors at page 23.
A few pages later, I stepped away for a moment to re-evaluate my boundaries in horror fiction. It wasn’t about graphic gore or even content. It was the realism. The horrifying, mind-violating realism of the content and horrors rising from the pages. Intellectually, I knew this spoke to Miller’s superior storytelling, but part of my mind said, “Dude, I don’t like you right now.”

The biggest horror for me? The dark, irreverent, inexcusable humor throughout the story got at least a smirk (and often an outright laugh) from me in spite of how horrified I was by the events in the story. Every time. Every single time. Snake balls. ☹

Starving Zoe is told in first person by the main character, Robert Jack. Much like a real-life friend, Robert is telling you things he himself clearly does not grasp the significance of, inspiring evocative moments of you wanting to say, “Dude, did you even hear what you just said?” out loud. (maybe I did, maybe I didn’t)

Evocative. Yes. Starving Zoe is a shockingly evocative tale. It evokes your gag reflex. It evokes outrage. It evokes horror and frustration both with and at the narrator. It evokes sadness.

It is a twisted masterwork of human authenticity with a supernatural flair, compelling, evocative, brutal. It is ultimately a story about love and all the dark and awful thoughts and emotions that go with it. It stays with you long after you finish it (I read it four days ago). It is also a Splatter Western and not for those with sensitive constitutions.

Fans of the Splatter Western series will love Starving Zoe. Fans of extreme horror in general will love it too.

Get it on Amazon: getbook.at/StarvingZoe


About the Author: C. Derick Miller

C. Derick Miller is a dark fiction author, Gonzo journalist, screenwriter, poet, ordained minister, and ASCAP songwriter born in the town of Greenville, Texas. His influences include Hunter S. Thompson, Kevin Smith, Shawn Mullins, and Del James. Currently the Senior Writer/Junior Producer for AtuA Productions, he resides in the Bishop Arts District of Dallas, Texas where he has a price on his head for his short story “Hell Paso” contained in the #1 Best Selling Anthology And Hell Followed. He wishes he were making up that last part but … it is nice to be wanted.

C. Derick Miller on The Literary License Podcast 8.7.20!

https://www.podbean.com/eu/pb-wd47g-e61a57

Author Christine Morgan’s Honest “Extinguished” Review!

See more at https://christinemariemorgan.wordpress.com/

Title: Extinguished

Author: C. Derick Miller

Publisher: Death’s Head Press

Website: http://www.deathsheadpress.com

An “aptronym” is what they call it, the term for when your given name suits (however ironically) your chosen profession or role in life. Whether it’s prescience on the part of your parents, or some kind of self-fulfilling prophecy, it’s often amusing and sometimes annoying. And easier to get away with / put up with in fiction than the real world.

In this case, the aptronym belongs to Angel Burns, who lost her mother in a tragic house fire, was raised by the fire chief who rescued her, and went on to pursue firefighting as a career. Now a single mom, working for and with a bunch of oinking sexist jerks who make her job a living hell, she has no idea how much an actual “living hell” she’s about to stumble into.

Or, as it turns out, that her first name’s a bit of an aptronym too, when she finds herself caught in a supernatural battle and then recruited into a secret society of demon-hunters. Armed with her trusty fire-axe and a magical family heirloom, Angel’s new mission involves trying to stop the forces of evil from getting their claws on the relics that can be used as weapons against them.

I enjoyed the story, but did find the writing fairly heavy on the “tell” side of things (particularly when it came to referring to her as “the young hunter” or “the girl” or “the hero” and similar stylistic phrasing, though to be fair that is a big-time personal peeve of mine.) And the characterization of Angel struck me kind of bothersome in that crass one-of-the-boys-but-with-sexy-sexy-boobs way.

The energy’s there, though, and the sense of fun. Lots of action scenes and what would be big-budget special effects. Some see-it-coming twists, others surprising. I’d be interested in seeing more.

Werewolves and brutality abound!

Reviewed in the United States on June 19, 2020Far From Home is the continuation of book 1 in the series, Taste of Home. The story was more fluid than the first book with more action and brutality. Once the action really picks up, the book was riveting to me. I could not put it down from that point and finished it. One part of the story was predicable to me, but there were a few twists that I did not see coming. Again, Miller shows us the depths of his imagination and undeniable talent with this continuation of the series.

Far From Home takes place 5 years after the events of Taste of Home. Katie Lieberman is a young woman now with an agenda of her own. She makes the decision to face her destiny head on without the support or knowledge of her father. She quickly realizes she has misjudged her opponent and now must survive in the unfamiliar territory of New York City! See how she handles herself in this next installation of the Home Series.

5/5 Stars, The Voracious Gnome Review

Page Turner Till The End!

The story is about Toby Lieberman who works in rural Texas. His home life has been turned upside down, he can do no wrong by his daughter, and he has a tight knit group of family and friends he can trust. Bad things start happening around him and he finds himself trying to survive and avoiding the Law as much as possible. The story picks up and then the real ride continues.

This is one of Miller’s first books published and what a treat! Werewolves in Texas, um yes please! The only reason I didn’t give it 5 stars was because there is some repetition throughout the book that made me feel like I had de’ja’ vu moments. I was really enthralled in the story and think this would make a great movie! Miller does an excellent job developing the characters so readers can choose which to love and which to hate. Miller is a promising up and comer and this debut novel shows the unbelievable talent he has still to share with us!

4/5 Stars, The Voracious Gnome Review

bibliophilia templum

Reviews and Resources for the daring reader

Posted on  by BIBLIOPHILIA TEMPLUMLeave a comment

FAR FROM HOME
By C. Derick Miller

farfromhome

A Deep Tale of Humanity and Werewolves

Synopsis

A Curse Beyond Comprehension. A Power Beyond Belief. A Girl Far From Home.

Katie Liberman is your typical eighteen-year-old college student … or at least that’s what her family thinks. Picking up five years after the events of A Taste of Home, Katie has dropped out of school and embarked upon a dangerous quest to find Kurt Jimmerson, the New York City attorney responsible for her family’s werewolf curse. Unknown to her, the attorney’s grip on the ‘City That Never Sleeps’ is tighter than imagined, and she’ll need any and all help available to be victorious.

But … where do you find friends when you’re Far From Home?

Review

Far From Home is book 2 in the Home Series, but it flows a bit differently than the first book, A Taste of Home. Both books combine deep, flowing narrative with vivid, sometimes brutal action sequences, but the flavor of Far From Home is different, the focus is different, ultimately, the story is vastly different. I find this a refreshing surprise in a sequel, and it fits this series in my opinion.

Miller has once again shown his masterful skill at writing female characters who are both strong and realistic. His female characters in Far From Home are diverse, different one from another, yet realistic in their personalities, flaws, strengths. Miller stays outside of stereotypes even while some of his characters represent “that one woman you know” in your head—and perhaps that other one as well.

Far From Home is as much about the human condition as it is werewolves. Decisions born of good intentions but made in ignorance. Greed and corruption. Devotion. Desperation. The foolish ways we perceive ourselves and others. But Miller doesn’t use the standard drama to evoke awareness of these things, they are simply part of the story, part of the characterization, part of the terror.

Far From Home is a deep and violent story about werewolves and beast inside us all.

Get it on Amazon: getbook.at/HomeBook2FarFromHome


About the Author: C Derick Miller

C. Derick Miller is a dark fiction author, Gonzo journalist, freelance A&E journalist, poet, ordained minister, and ASCAP songwriter born in the town of Greenville, Texas. A seasoned paranormal investigator and traveler for the art industry, his influences include Hunter S. Thompson, Kevin Smith, Shawn Mullins, and Del James. He is currently signed with Black Rose Writing and Death’s Head Press. Chad is also an active member of the International Thriller Writers organization, the Horror Writers Association, and the creator of Gonzo Wolf Press. He currently resides in the Bishop Arts District of Dallas, Texas and has a price on his head for his short story “Hell Paso” contained in the #1 Amazon Best Selling Death’s Head Press Anthology “And Hell Followed”.

“Paul Varjak-ing It Since 1973!”

https://www.facebook.com/howlgrowlsnarl/

twitter @howlgrowlsnarl

The Literary License Podcast: Hereditary & Midsommar

A Taste of Home

Posted on  by BIBLIOPHILIA TEMPLUMLeave a comment

A TASTE OF HOME

atasteofhome

A deep and brutal werewolf tale

Synopsis

Toby Liberman is nearing the end of his rope. After a fateful confrontation with his wife’s lover, he is chased into the woods, only to be discovered by an unidentifiable creature. He is attacked and rendered unconscious. Upon waking at the scene of a gruesome triple homicide, Toby is arrested as the sole suspect and thrown into a jail cell with a strange man who knows way too much about his predicament. The stranger reveals to Toby that he now possesses the curse of the werewolf. Using his new-found strength to flee his captors, Toby begins to discover that things are not what they seem in the sleepy town of Twin Oaks, TX. Now hunted by law enforcement, as well as the town’s gun toting civilians, Toby seeks vengeance against his false accusers and embarks upon a quest to clear his name once and for all.

Review

Werewolves in Texas, y’all.

In A Taste of Home by C. Derick Miller, small town drama and corruption meets the curse of the werewolf. This early work of Miller’s gives a respectful nod to early Stephen King by using character choices and actions as the ultimate horror with the added monster horror as spice and catalyst. Miller’s diverse and vivid characters play upon your emotions as the horrors play upon your guts.

This story alternates between flowing narrative and brutal sequences. The foreshadowing creates titillating suspense, but you are ultimately not prepared for the turn things take. I had a moment of vocal exclamation accompanied by a brief desire to stab the author myself as the tale progressed.

These are not Hollywood movie werewolves! This one will keep you up at night.

A Taste of Home is book 1 in the Home Series, and I can hardly wait to read the next one!

Get it on Amazon: getbook.at/aTasteofHome


About the Author: C Derick Miller

C. Derick Miller is a dark fiction author, Gonzo journalist, freelance A&E journalist, poet, ordained minister, and ASCAP songwriter born in the town of Greenville, Texas. A seasoned paranormal investigator and traveler for the art industry, his influences include Hunter S. Thompson, Kevin Smith, Shawn Mullins, and Del James. He is currently signed with Black Rose Writing and Death’s Head Press. Chad is also an active member of the International Thriller Writers organization, the Horror Writers Association, and the creator of Gonzo Wolf Press. He currently resides in the Bishop Arts District of Dallas, Texas and has a price on his head for his short story “Hell Paso” contained in the #1 Amazon Best Selling Death’s Head Press Anthology “And Hell Followed”.

“Paul Varjak-ing It Since 1973!”

https://www.facebook.com/howlgrowlsnarl/

twitter @howlgrowlsnarl

Lambda Weekly Interview 2.23.20

Posted on September 23, 2019 by BIBLIOPHILIA TEMPLUMLeave a comment

EXTINGUISHED
By C Derick Miller

extinguished

I WAS HOOKED!

SYNOPSIS

Angel Burns—a curvy, small town fire fighter with a mysterious past and a sharp tongue—has far more to worry about than her sexist jerk of a boss; she has a gang of demons out for her head.

After Angel unwittingly stumbles into an ages old battle between good and evil, long dormant powers are awakened within her, and the denizens of Hell want payback. The only way to keep them from unleashing Hell on Earth is to lock each demon inside a Gutenberg Bible. Angel, looking for vengeance of her own, plans to do just that.

And—oh yeah—she has an axe.

CONTENT REVIEW

C Derick Miller is the new name in supernatural horror and urban horror fantasy.

Somebody call DC and tell them this is how you write a female hero character. Here is the best part about Miller’s female hero, Angel Burns: she has problems and issues, but she deals with them the way a strong woman does instead of remaining a victim of her own neuroses the way many female “hero” characters and lead roles do in today’s literature and cinema. She is fallible and has a stubborn inner strength that both helps and hinders her just like so many real-life women. She is complex and relatable and our story’s hero. THIS! This is how you write a female hero!

That being said, let us discuss the story itself.

It’s amazing.

Don’t be fooled by the simplistic, misleading synopsis blurb. The story has substance, much more substance than the synopsis indicates. I do not like the synopsis. I DO like the book!

Extinguished is entertaining, well-paced, and full of both action and suspense.  And the supernatural elements are brilliant. Time constraints prevented me from reading it in one sitting, but I wanted to. Much like a favorite TV show, I found myself thinking about the story when I wasn’t reading it. I was hooked on it. And now it’s over. And I’m sad. I love the story and the characters.

But wait.

The ending was surprisingly great! It gave excellent closure to the book but also left a teasing possibility for more books in the future. So maybe it is not completely over? More books like this one? Yes please.

Extinguished is a solid, enjoyable read with vivid characters and excellent flow. Five stars to C Derick Miller and five stars to Extinguished. I can’t wait to read more from this talented author.

Shelf worthy and on my shelf!

extinguished1bb

GET IT ON AMAZON: GETBOOK.AT/EXTINGUISHED


ABOUT THE AUTHOR: C DERICK MILLER

C. Derick Miller is a dark fiction author, Gonzo journalist, freelance A&E journalist, poet, ordained minister, and ASCAP songwriter born in the town of Greenville, Texas. A seasoned paranormal investigator and traveler for the art industry, his influences include Hunter S. Thompson, Kevin Smith, Shawn Mullins, and Del James. He is currently signed with Black Rose Writing and Death’s Head Press. Chad is also an active member of the International Thriller Writers organization, the Horror Writers Association, and the creator of Gonzo Wolf Press. He currently resides in the Bishop Arts District of Dallas, Texas and has a price on his head for his short story “Hell Paso” contained in the #1 Amazon Best Selling Death’s Head Press Anthology “And Hell Followed”.

“Paul Varjak-ing It Since 1973!”

https://www.facebook.com/howlgrowlsnarl/

twitter @howlgrowlsnarl

Meghan's HAUNTED House of Books

Meghan’s HAUNTED House of Books

Halloween Extravaganza: INTERVIEW: C. Derick Miller

October 26, 2019megHan

Meghan: Hello and welcome to Meghan’s House of Books. Tell us a little bit about yourself.

C. Derick Miller: I’m a dark fiction author, Gonzo Journalist, freelance A&E journalist, poet, ordained minister, and ASCAP songwriter born in the town of Greenville, Texas. A seasoned paranormal investigator and traveler for the art industry, my influences include Hunter S. ThompsonKevin SmithShawn Mullins, and Del James. I’m currently signed with Black Rose Writing and Death’s Head Press. I’m also an active member of the International Thriller Writers organization, the Horror Writers Association, and the creator of Gonzo Wolf Press. I currently reside in the Bishop Arts District of Dallas, Texas and have a price on his head for my short story “Hell Paso” contained in the #1 Amazon Best Selling Death’s Head Press Anthology And Hell Followed.

Meghan: What are five things most people don’t know about you?

C. Derick Miller: I’m a veteran, prior law enforcement, a father of 4, a grandfather of 2, and related to Lee Harvey Oswald’s widowed wife!

Meghan: What is the first book you remember reading?

C. Derick Miller: Where the Red Fern Grows

Meghan: What are you reading now?

C. Derick Miller: Catfish in The Cradle by Wile E. Young

Meghan: What’s a book you really enjoyed that others wouldn’t expect you to have liked?

C. Derick Miller: What the Valley Knows by Heather Christie

Meghan: What made you decide you want to write? When did you begin writing?

C. Derick Miller: I read a book of short stories by Del James titled The Language of Fear. It contained the story ‘Without You’ which influenced the music video for Guns N Roses November Rain. I woke up the next morning and wrote my first short story. Poetry was always easy for me as a school kid though.

Meghan: Do you have a special place you like to write?

C. Derick Miller: Nowhere special but loud, 80’s hair metal is a key ingredient.

Meghan: Do you have any quirks or processes that you go through when you write?

C. Derick Miller: I normally write the beginning, then the end, and fill in the blanks in between.

Meghan: Is there anything about writing you find most challenging?

C. Derick Miller: Writing? No. The publishing industry? Too many to mention.

Meghan: What’s the most satisfying thing you’ve written so far?

C. Derick Miller: My newest novel Extinguished. It’s the only thing I’ve written during complete sobriety. Some say it’s my best work so far.

Meghan: What books have most inspired you? Who are some authors that have inspired your writing style?

C. Derick Miller: I don’t think it’s fair for an author to describe his own style. I try my best not to pull influence from anywhere. I just do my own thing.

Meghan: What do you think makes a good story?

C. Derick Miller: The villain makes the story. Always. You can’t have a good hero without a good villain. Darth Vader, Lord Voldemort, Scar from The Lion King lol.

Meghan: What does it take for you to love a character? How do you utilize that when creating your characters?

C. Derick Miller: Honesty and the acceptance of weakness. I hate overpowered heroes. Disney has a bad habit of this. Not everyone can be a Jedi. Some of us must be Chewbacca.

Meghan: Which, of all your characters, do you think is the most like you?

C. Derick Miller: Johnny Haynes from the Taste of Home series. Loudmouth, oblivious to the consequences of his actions, and can easily turn anything into a sex joke.

Meghan: Are you turned off by a bad cover? To what degree were you involved in creating your book covers?

C. Derick Miller: I don’t mind a bad cover. I despise a bad synopsis. My son has been an internationally published graphic artist since age 15 and he’s designed my covers for the past few years. He’s leaving for the Army soon, so I’m screwed.

Meghan: What have you learned creating your books?

C. Derick Miller: The market is oversaturated with bad writers who possess amazing marketing skills. The same could be said about the music industry as well. Gotta love the internet, right? The best talent is brushed to the wayside far too often.

Meghan: What has been the hardest scene for you to write so far?

C. Derick Miller: There’s a scene in Far from Home where the protagonist is forced to watch his own daughter be sexually assaulted. I have three daughters. You get the picture. I wanted to write a disturbing scene and that was the most disturbing thing I could think of.

Meghan: What makes your books different from others out there in this genre?

C. Derick Miller: It’s a lot less extreme than most of the indie horror titles floating around out there. I was just contracted for my first ‘extreme’ horror novella. I’m a little nervous about putting those thoughts on paper.

Meghan: How important is the book title, how hard is it to choose the best one, and how did you choose yours (of course, with no spoilers)?

C. Derick Miller: I feel the title is the bait, not the cover. My upcoming novella was originally titled ‘The Screaming of The Trees’. It was too ‘on the nose’ for the subject matter. I wanted it to be a little more mysterious. One night, my wife reminded me to pick up the cat food because our cat Zoe was going to the veterinarian in the morning. Starving Zoe was exactly the title I was looking for, so I went with it!

Meghan: What makes you feel more fulfilled: Writing a novel or writing a short story?

C. Derick Miller: Novel. Novels are like relationships. Short stories are more like one-night stands. I can knock out a lengthy short story in a matter of hours compared to the months of dedication it takes to complete a novel.

Meghan: Tell us a little bit about your books, your target audience, and what you would like readers to take away from your stories.

C. Derick Miller: The ‘Home’ series and Extinguished are dark fiction but I’m beginning to cross the boundary into extreme horror. I don’t necessarily have a target audience, but most of my readers appear to be women! My protagonists are all normal, downtrodden people who rise to the occasion when needed. Now that I think about it, female characters have all been the victors in my fiction novels. For decades, women were the unlikely hero in any fiction. I hated that. I have three strong adult daughters and a strong wife. No victims in this family.

Meghan: Can you tell us about some of the deleted scenes/stuff that got left out of your work?

C. Derick Miller: When A Taste of Home was just a short story, I’d originally written the protagonist’s daughter Katie to die at the hands of her werewolf father, thus the title of the novel. Instead, I kept her alive for a stronger, unexpected ending. She’s the main character in the sequel and it really gave me a chance to flesh her out rather than have her torn to pieces!

Meghan: What is in your “trunk”?

C. Derick Miller: I have several songs I’ve written just sitting in a file on my computer. Four of them have been recorded over the years but there are tons more. Rather than wait on a needy musician, I’m learning to play the guitar. Who knows? Maybe one day I’ll record them instead!

Meghan: What can we expect from you in the future?

C. Derick Miller: I’m part of an upcoming Splatter Western box set from Death’s Head Press. Think Splatterpunk with an old west twist. I also have outlines completed for a Far from Home and Extinguished sequel. My wife and I also have our first children’s book in the works using my story and her illustrations.

Meghan: Where can we find you?

C. Derick Miller: My website is a one stop shop. I blog often and have links to all my social media there. My wife and I also record a weekly podcast called Butterflies Make Me Angry! We discuss books, film, politics, and anything else on our minds. We can be found on Podbean, Spotify, iTunes, and YouTube!

Meghan: Do you have any closing words for your fans or anything you’d like to say that we didn’t get to cover in this interview?

C. Derick Miller: Surround yourself with creative people. Encourage each other. Build a family of writers and cling to one another for dear life. In the end, no one else understands us!

Home 1: A Taste of Home

Toby Liberman is nearing the end of his rope. After a fateful confrontation with his wife’s lover, he is chased into the woods only to be discovered by an unidentifiable creature. He is attacked and rendered unconscious. Upon waking at the scene of a gruesome triple homicide, Toby is arrested as the sole suspect and thrown into a jail cell with a strange man that knows way too much about his predicament. The stranger reveals to Toby that he now possesses the curse of the werewolf. Using his new-found strength to flee his captors, Toby begins to discover that things are not what they seem in the sleepy town of Twin Oaks, TX. Now hunted by law enforcement, as well as the town’s gun toting civilians, Toby seeks vengeance against his false accusers and embarks upon a quest to clear his name once and for all.

Home 2: Far from Home

A Curse Beyond Comprehension. A Power Beyond Belief. A Girl Far From Home.Katie Liberman is your typical eighteen-year-old college student…or at least that’s what her family thinks. Picking up five years after the events of A Taste of Home, Katie has dropped out of school and embarked upon a dangerous quest to find Kurt Jimmerson, the New York City attorney responsible for her family’s werewolf curse. Unknown to her, the attorney’s grip on the ‘City That Never Sleeps’ is tighter than imagined and she’ll need any and all help available to be victorious. But… where do you find friends when you’re Far From Home?

Diary of a Gonzo Ghost Hunter

Most people run away from the unknown. Me? I chose to run toward it and never look back. Unaware of the consequences of my actions in small town Texas, I dove deep into paranormal research. It consumed my entire life. Taken from a decade of personal journals and interpreted by Rae Louise, Diary of a Gonzo Ghost Hunter is an extremely honest journey down a road less traveled. What shadows lurk in the darkness outside of bedroom doors? I was determined to find out.

What’s it like to walk in the shoes of a ghost hunter? It’s all here. As someone who lived through what you’re about to experience, it is difficult for me to read. For some, it will be the fuel that drives their curiosity. But for others … let it be a warning. Every step you take toward the dead leads you further from the living.

And Hell Followed: An Anthology

Seventeen authors re-imagine the biblical apocalypse and all the hell that follows in sixteen horrifying tales. What if the prophecies of Revelation hit today? What sort of craziness and evil would ensue? With this list of excellent authors contributing, it’s sure to be a Hell of a read! 

Wrath James White 
Sam West 
The Sisters of Slaughter 
Jeff Strand 
K Trap Jones 
C Derick Miller 
Christine Morgan 
Patrick C. Harrison III 
John Wayne Comunale 
Hyäne Sawbones 
Delphine Quinn 
James Watts 
Wile E. Young 
Chris Miller 
Mark Deloy 
Richard Raven

Dark fiction author to read excerpts of latest novel at Uptown Forum

Greenville-born dark fiction author C. Derick Miller will read excerpts from his newest novel, “Extinguished,” at the Uptown Forum Saturday.

Combining elements of the supernatural horror, adventure and superhero genres, “Extinguished” tells the story of a young woman firefighter, Angel Burns, who comes across a ceremony where its participants are attempting to summon a demon – an experience that reawakens in her both long-repressed memories and long-forgotten supernatural powers. The heroine eventually finds herself on the payroll of the Vatican, and is put on a mission to keep the surviving Gutenberg Bibles out of the clutches demonic forces.

Released on Aug. 1, Miller’s latest book is available for purchase on Amazon.com, Miller’s own website CDerickMiller.com, and his publisher’s page DeathsHeadPress.com.

“Extinguished” is the sixth work of Miller’s that has been published within the two years, following three novels and two short stories that appeared in anthologies.

Planned future projects of Miller’s include a graphic novel adaptation of “Extinguished” and a children’s book, titled “Cherish This Life.”

On Saturday, Miller will both read excerpts from “Extinguished” and sign copies at the Uptown Forum, located at 2610 Lee Street, from noon to 2 p.m.

Deadman’s Tome Podcast Live From KillerCon 2019!

Literary License Podcast: Blazing Saddles and High Anxiety!

https://www.podbean.com/ew/pb-q3c5d-bb1573

Author pens superhero story for real-life heroes

At Frightmare
C. Derick Miller attends Dallas Frightmare Weekend in May, where he sold out of copies of his two most recent novels, “A Taste of Home” and “Far From Home.”Courtesy photo

     

Combining elements of the supernatural horror, adventure and superhero genres, Greenville-born dark fiction author C. Derick Miller’s latest novel, “Extinguished,” is scheduled for release on Aug. 1.

The book tells the story of a young woman firefighter, Angel Burns, who comes across a ceremony where its participants are attempting to summon a demon – an experience that reawakens in her both long-repressed memories and long-forgotten supernatural powers. The heroine later finds herself on the payroll of the Vatican, and is put on a mission in which she has to keep the surviving Gutenberg Bibles out of the clutches demonic forces.

“I wanted to write a novel with a strong female lead and I decided to base it off of a female first responder because I thought it would be a cool idea to turn into a story,” Miller told the Herald-Banner.

Long after deciding to write a novel that featured a firefighter as its main protagonist, Miller – who now lives in Dallas – was moved by how quickly first responders in Greenville rose to the challenge after violent, 85 mph winds and flying debris caused widespread damage in his hometown on June 19.

The tireless work of Greenville’s firefighters, EMTs and police officers after the storm inspired him to offer half of his royalties from pre-orders and the first month of sales after the release of “Extinguished” to first responders in Hunt County. The book’s publishing company, Death’s Head Press, has also agreed to match Miller’s donation dollar for dollar.

“Even though I live in Bishop Arts (in Oak Cliff) now, I watched the news and saw how first responders helped after the storm, so I thought I’d do a little something for them to give something back,” Miller said.

The anticipated start date for pre-orders of “Extinguished” is July 20, when the book should be available for purchase on Amazon.com, Miller’s own website CDerickMiller.com, and DeathsHeadPress.com.

“Extinguished” will be the sixth work of Miller’s to be published in the last year and a half, following three novels and two short stories that appeared in anthologies.

“I’ve been planning on getting some time off soon, but it looks like I’m gonna have to wait,” Miller said of his busy schedule.

One of the projects he has in the works is finding a comic book artist to help him adapt “Extinguished” into a graphic novel.

 “I really want to market it as a super hero story, so I’m looking through graphic novels, looking to find the right artist,” Miller said with a gleam in his eye.

Another upcoming project of Miller’s is his first-ever children’s book, “Cherish This Life,” which he plans to self-publish through his independent company, Gonzo Wolf Press.

“There’s definitely a market for paranormal children’s books,” Miller said. “I was at Texas Frightmare Weekend (in Dallas in May) and sold out of copies of “A Taste of Home” and “Far From Home” (his two most recent novels), but there was another author there selling paranormal children’s books he’d written, and he was selling three for every one of my books.

“He had them set up down low, where the kids could see them as they walked by. It was genius,” Miller said with a smile. “The hardest part of finishing a children’s book is finding an illustrator, because it’s pretty much a poem with pictures.”

Miller is currently working with illustrator Samantha Jean Cloud, and hopes to be able to publish “Cherish This Life” sometime next year.

All published by Black Rose Writing within the last year and a half, Miller’s three already released novels – “Diary of a Gonzo Ghost Hunter” and the first two installments of his “Home” series, “A Taste of Home” and “Far From Home” – are available for purchase off of Amazon.com, his website CDerickMiller.com, and at BlackRoseWriting.com

Also in recent months, two short stories by Miller – “Hell Paso” and “Nemesis” – appeared in the anthologies, “And Hell Followed” and “Dig Two Graves,” both of which were published by Death’s Head Press. Both anthologies can be bought off of Amazon or his own website, and also DeathsHeadPress.com.

Bargain Horror Interviews DHP’s Jarod Barbee (Read Here)

24 Hour Deadman’s Tome Podcast (My 2 Hours)

25YL Nails The Indie Industry (with a little quote from your’s truly)

Read the article here!

Documentary Filmmaker Scott Poggensee Discusses The Brandon Woodruff Case On KNON!

American Inc. Interview

Author D. Lieber Interview

Read The Interview!

TBM Interview 12.19.18

Read The Interview!

C. Derick Miller On Deadman’s Tome Podcast 12.15.18

C. Derick Miller On The Literary License Podcast 12.8.18

https://open.spotify.com/episode/6RazVirnX2Am0g6vd0tCEp?si=skz3xj98T7KiX-1jbmTNrQ

Karen’s Killer Book Bench Meets Far From Home!

Read It Here!

Original ‘Katie’ Artwork By Danny Daniels

‘Far From Home’ Hits The Big Thrill Magazine!

Read The Interview!

Author Tristan Drue Rogers Reviews ‘A Taste Of Home’!

Read The Review!

Interviewed Again On Karen’s Killer Book Bench!

20180412_194837

Karen’s Killer Book Bench: A TASTE OF HOME, Home Series Book 1, #Horror #Fantasy by C. Derick Miller

Interviewed on Karen’s Killer Book Bench

20171126_131907

Karen’s Killer Book Bench: DIARY OF A GONZO GHOST HUNTER, Adventure & Explorer Biographies by C. Derick Miller

Martin Matthews Interviews ME!

20180412_194837

https://martinmatthewswrites.com/2018/10/14/a-taste-of-home-c-derick-miller/

The Literary License Podcast: The Witches Of Eastwick

https://open.spotify.com/episode/1MTUMxTOLBd6kfrDGN69hH?si=l7_3hsWGQjCvsISgmAPWHA

Texas Justice: Brandon Woodruff by Scott Poggensee

A film review? Yep! Read The Review!

5bb0180bd1f1a.image

Beyond McCarron’s Corner: Sassy’s Story by Sharon K. Middleton published 9.23.18

Read The Review!

51c1DbeVCcL

Z.O.S. – A Memoir by Kay Merkel Boruff published 9.16.18

Read The Review!

518fXWnRkPL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_

Hill House Manor: A Fictional Beginning by Linda Anthony Hill Published 9.9.18

Read The Review!

HHM

Brush Your Little Pearly Whites by David Canzonari and Christina Darty Published 9.2.18 (with guest reviewer Alyce Miller)

Read The Review!

Watch The Video Review!

Brush Your Little Pearly Whites COVER OUTSIDE colors

The Hunter Chronicles: Life Lessons From Another Species by Rick Parent – Published 8.26.18

Read The Review!

518gd5nbmpL._SY346_ (1)

Brothers of Blood by Tristan Drue Rogers – Published 8.19.18

Read The Review!

51uqeeuALIL._SY346_

The Cinco de Mayo Reckoning by Terry Money – Published 8.12.18

Read The Review!

41c+AtAGRYL

Spectacular Weekend Getaways Of Texas by Jolie Berry – Published 8.5.18

Read The Review!

Cover

The Anchor Is The Key by Linda Anthony Hill – Published 7.29.18

Read The Review!

Anchor Cover

Rio Harrison by Mike Bendall

Published 7.22.18

Read The Review!

What The Valley Knows by Heather Christie – Published 7.15.18

Read The Review!

What The Valley Knows

8 Bore – Remember never being able to touch the radio while riding in your older brother’s car? We’re the ‘live’ version of that. Four Texas musicians that play what we want. From Toto to Zepplin, if you don’t like what you hear…just wait for the next song!

Farewell to Adam Bell

Interview: Jeremy Phifer

Interview: Luke Wyldmon

Review – 3 Blocks Away

Read The Review. Jump ahead to page 30!

P.S. – Sorry about the mix up with the band name near the beginning. Not my fault. An editing mistake by the publisher. I’ve deeply apologized a million times. I still feel like shit about it. – C

38651703_219828155350511_6216025937511710720_o (1)

Just to make up for the mistake, here is my original, unedited review of the band. I feel it has a bit more emotion in it. They deserve it.

The members of the band filed through the doorway of the Corner Street Pub fifteen minutes apart. It gave me a wonderful chance to get to know each of them as individuals before coming together as a unit on stage. Originally mistaken for nervousness, an eagerness to begin the show emanated from their young faces. Nothing I write below this line is worthy of the talent exhibited by these teenage musicians!

Blake Adams pulled the short straw to sit at the interview table first. A thirteen-year-old Bass player from Rockwall, he claims his influences as Kiss, Metallica, Megadeth, and Rush. Blake states that his long-term plans are to ride the music train until the wheels fall off with no current interest in college. He dreams of one day playing a show in Madison Square Garden but refers to himself as ‘the quiet one’.

Guitar player Mateo Young was on the opposite end of the attention spectrum. Born in Guatemala, the fourteen-year-old Rockwall resident claims Eddie Van Halen’s “Eruption” as his first love. Second love?Skateboarding.  Although he shares Blake’s lack of enthusiasm for continuing his education, he didn’t have a dream venue. He just wants to play. His personal message to young fans? “I eat tortillas every day.” He never stopped smiling.

Next up was Drummer Cale Bragg. Claiming Dream Theater’s Mike Portney as his musical influence, the thirteen-year-old has no other hobbies. Music is his life. He dreams of playing music inside of the American Airlines Center and plans to attend Oklahoma State University for a degree in some type of music related field. He respects the fans of the band more than anything.

Last to the spotlight was fourteen-year-old singer Kenna Denease. She looks to Ariana Grande as one of her biggest vocal influences but claims her Uncle’s love for music led her down this pathway. Her backup plan is to attend Berkley if singing the national anthem at American Airlines Center doesn’t pan out. Kenna also just landed a role in her high school’s upcoming play “Passing Through Annabelle”. She shares in Cale’s appreciation of the fans stating that none of this would be possible without them.

A sudden, heavy rain began to fall outside which erased any chances of performing as planned. Although it would be expected behavior from most professional, well-known musicians, not a single member of 3 Blocks Away frowned or complained. Instead, their incredibly supportive parents jumped into action, transforming the tiny confines of the Corner Street Pub into a concert worthy stage. This young talent from Rockwall’s School Of Rock had already performed at The House Of Blues in Dallas a few times (the main stage!) and a little rain wasn’t going to dampen their spirits.

“We’re 3 Blocks Away…and we just arrived on our ark!” Kenna informed the crowd as the band began the opening notes to “Tonight, Tonight” by The Smashing Pumpkins.

Suddenly, their age no longer meant anything at all. The band’s courteous and humble attitudes melted away into confidence as Cale, Mateo, Blake, and Kenna revealed to all in attendance that it was their stage, their show, their way. The vocals began to open up and the drums found their groove. The guitarist and bassist smiled at each other, trading licks with every strum. By the fourth song, 3 Blocks Away had found their magic with no sign of stopping, but could they endure through the four-hour performance they’d agreed with in order to play the venue? Yes. It actually intensified with each song!

3 Blocks Away took a pub full of crazed patrons on an unforgettable ride from Fleetwood Mac to Guns N’ Roses. On several occasions throughout the night, singer Kenna Denease left the stage with microphone in hand to serenade the band’s new followers from atop a table or nearby bar stool. The sweat and exhaustion that covered their young faces meant absolutely nothing when it came to the music. The Corner Street Pub was overflowing with curious customers out onto the Lee Street sidewalk, so Kenna walked outdoors to sing to them as well. Then, just when I personally thought they could give no more, they obliged their fan’s cries for an encore. THREE of them! The vocalist finally said goodnight to the ecstatic crowd to have a well-deserved rest, but the boys weren’t finished yet. Enter: Anoxik, a heavy metal band formed by the remaining three members.

A growl escaped from Blake Adam’s mouth that would send most parents running to the nearest priest! Mateo Young and Cale Bragg’s faces switched from angelic musicians to metal masters with the unseen flip of a switch. Jaws dropped throughout the place as the boys entertained a more hard-core sound with an original composition plus near perfect renditions of Metallica’s “Seek and Destroy”, “Master of Puppets”, and “One”.

At the height of the mayhem, drummer Cale and guitarist Mateo switched places midway through the song to play each other’s instruments without so much as missing a beat. No one could believe what they were witnessing from a rock band not even old enough to drive a car. The standing room only performance shocked and rocked music fans until long after midnight. One fan’s words to me said it all.

“This is the best show I’ve seen in downtown Greenville,” stated resident Orion Casper “These bars don’t deserve this band!”

“They also do at least two fundraisers a year,” informed band mother Alicia Jordan “They raised over $1100 for Hurricane Harvey relief last year! They’re very humble young people and I’m blessed to be a part of this.”

In summary, the words of Mr. Casper and Mrs. Jordan rattled around in my head as I attempted to put my finger on exactly what I’d witnessed that night at The Corner Street Pub. Talent and humility usually refuse to mix well within the same individual. Multiply that by four and you have a band from Rockwall/Royse City that goes by the name 3 Blocks Away. I would recommend that other local musicians seek out one of their shows at their earliest convenience to see what they’re up against. It may be time to step up the game or move out of the way…because these kids come to school prepared.

Review – Nevermind

20180911_151733.jpg

Concert Review – Lindsey Stirling + Evanescence

Read The Review!

IMG_20180825_003312_492.jpg